Making A Game.

We're gamers in here! All platforms, any genre. Share with us your latest gaming obsession.
Rune_74
Officer [Gold Rank]
Officer [Gold Rank]

Making A Game.

Post by Rune_74 »

Hey guys,

Lately I've been thinking of starting a group to make a game. What I had in mind was a game a long the lines of dungeon master/lands of lore/bards tale/wizardry. The problem is I have an extensive background with rpg and I have general idea how I want to lay the game out, however, I have little programming experience. I have some knowledge of C++ but its been years.

I think what I would be looking at is a static space by space movement and 90 degree turns, just to keep things simple.

So my questions for you guys and especailly you thom...are:

1) Would it be hard to get a coder out there?
2) What about artists?
3) Anyone interested in a game like this?

Eschalon underworld anyone? joking, but that could be a thought.

Thanks for any info guys,

Dave
BasiliskWrangler
Site Admin

Re: Making A Game.

Post by BasiliskWrangler »

Dave:

There are a lot of resources out there for finding coders and artists- check out any major indie game development website and you can find a ton of people looking to help on a project. The problem is coming up with the capital needed to pay people for their work over the 2-3 years it will take to make a decent game. Some people may be willing to work for free until the game is finished in order to have a cut of the profits (I think this is how Vince is handling the AoD crew).

Or, maybe you are looking for a team who is interested in making a free fan-supported game (which is possible, but this will be much harder to keep people focused and on-track when there is no money to be made). If this is your desire, you may be able to round up some Oblivion or NWN modders and you can use one of those games to make a "total conversion".